AquaRank.com

FishProfiles.com Message Forums

faq | etiquette | register | my account | search | mailbox
# FishProfiles.com Message Forums
L# Freshwater Species
 L# Cichlid Central
  L# Discus + Angelfish = Good or Bad??
 Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeDiscus + Angelfish = Good or Bad??
rasboramary
----------
Big Fish
Kudos: 192
Votes: 4
female usa
I have a 65g tall hexagon tank with two large angelfish and two small clown loaches (I have a larger tank to move the loaches when they grow).

How about adding a discus? Or two? I am just beginning to learn about these beautiful fish and I know they are a lot of work. But would the requirements (other than the frequent water changes for discus) be similar to those of the angelfish?

What say you
Post InfoPosted 23-Mar-2006 03:01Profile PM Edit Report 
Wingsdlc
----------
Fish Guru
What is this?
Kudos: 799
male usa
I wouldn't mix discus and angles in that size tank. Even thought they are peacefull cichlids they are still cichlids and are teritoral. A hex tank does not give enough of a foot print for them to move about in.

55G Planted tank thread
19G Container Pond
[IMG]http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y118/Wingsdlc/Ric
Post InfoPosted 23-Mar-2006 04:17Profile AIM PM Edit Delete Report 
keithgh

---------------
---------------
*Ultimate Fish Guru*
Kudos: 6918
Votes: 1542
male australia au-victoria
In my personal opinion Discus should be on their own as they can be a very shy slow moving fish besides they look beautiful in a tank all by themselves.

Have a look in [link=My Profile] http://www.fishprofiles.com/forums/member.aspx?id=1935[/link] for my tank info

Look here for my
Betta 11Gal Desktop & Placidity 5ft Community Tank Photos

Keith

Near enough is not good enough, therefore good enough is not near enough, and only your best will do.
I VOTE DO YOU if not WHY NOT?
VOTE NOW VOTE NOW
Post InfoPosted 23-Mar-2006 08:05Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
cichlid crazy
-----
Hobbyist
Kudos: 37
female uk