AquaRank.com

FishProfiles.com Message Forums

faq | etiquette | register | my account | search | mailbox
# FishProfiles.com Message Forums
L# Freshwater Aquaria
 L# General Freshwater
  L# New 29gal up, running and very healthy!
 Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeNew 29gal up, running and very healthy!
brandeeno

-----
Mega Fish
Kudos: 636
male usa us-california
I know this will probably go unread for quite some time, because this site is not nearly as active as it once was... but this is the place where I learned so much about fish, plants, and how to be a member of the hobby/community.

A few months ago I dusted off an old 29gal tank I had stored in the garage after at least 5 years of being in dry dock. It was time to reignite the obsession.

So, I started with the substrate. I used a crushed basalt sand that I am able to get from work (i work in the concrete industry). I rinsed off the larger stones and driftwood and started my hardscape. I settled for mostly stone on one side and the wood on the other. I then rinsed off the abundance of fake plants that I had (but seldom used) and got a neat little scape going. Filled the tank and added a new HOB filter that I found at a local bigbox pet store on clearance because it had been returned (SCORE!).

I followed the advice from a great YouTube fish Keeper, Joey-- King of DIY, and used the cycled media from the mini tank that I had my Betta, KIllian, in and found a way to add everything in that tank into the new scape once the new tank had run for 24hrs with dechlorinator. I added Killian and his Cherry Shrimp companions to the tank and let them settle for a few days before I began to stock the tank.

Over several months and several hundreds of dollars in live plants (I needed the fake ones GONE), fish, food, and water additives I have a beautiful tank that runs very self-sufficiently.