Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeYour thoughts on purchasing...
FLEXJr
-----
Hobbyist
Kudos: 32
Votes: 1
male canada
I have a 29G, currently lightly planted.

The tank is only inhabited by two Bolivian Rams.

Would a Discus and a school of 6 Bosemani Rainbows be pushing it?

I'm mainly worried about the Discus. Is it too big for the tank? I talked to the guy at my LFS and he apparently has a pair of them in his 30G and he said they are doing fine. Although, you can never fully trust these guys...
Post InfoPosted 11-Apr-2007 05:30Profile PM Edit Report 
reun
-----
Big Fish
Kudos: 216
male usa
EditedEdited by Reun
i wouldnt trust them, I have no personal experience, but I have been told discuss need TALL tanks and lots of swimming space...I wouldnt try it. I have a TALL 26 gallon tank, and fish of similar size may pose a problem with your rams. I have a single ram and it is pretty protective of its lower half of the tank, and I assume a pair would be as protective or more.

a good combo with my ram i found was a beta and some lemon tetras and some cherry barbs. plenty of color and lots to look at in the tank, and fish over all the levels. the reason i chose this load out was because the tetras are big enough that the betta leaves them alone, and the lemons dont nip his fins, and the ram can easily chase them all out of his turf so no serious fighting results.

Rainbow fish get WAY too big for you tank and need alot more swimming room. this is just my opinion, but you may need to rethink this loadout, as it is a huge bioload and none of the fish will be happy.
Post InfoPosted 11-Apr-2007 06:12Profile PM Edit Delete Report 
Dangerous Dave
----------
Hobbyist
Kudos: 179
Votes: 3
male australia
You will never have a happy solitary discus. Discus generally do better in groups of 5 or more and require 10 gallons per fish when grown.
The guy at the lfs probably has a breeding pair in a 30G with nothing else, which is fine for a pair.