Post Reply  New Topic
SubscribeIch on Angel Fish
doggy lover
-----
Small Fry
Kudos: 1
Votes: 0
female canada
Hi I'm new here I hope you can help me with a few problems I've been having. I bought some fish about 2 weeks ago and have had Ich in my tank twice both times on my Angle's. I have treated the tank the first time for 5 days and the fish is better, then did partial change of water and restarted carbon filter. I noticed that my Gourami has like a pimple on its head which looks red and sore. Two days go by and another Angel has ich so I start again with QuIch cure. Now the Gourami's head seems to be getting better and is healing over. I'm going to treat the tank for a few more days the Angel is getting better. Is there something wrong or could it just be the fish I have bought. I have bought some more fish but they are waiting in another tank, I've had them for about a week and they seem fine. I'm kind of new at this I have normally kept goldfish or koi so any info will help. I was reading about hole in head of Gourmies but I don't think that, that is what is wrong with my fish, sorry this is so long. Thanks

I may be a doggy person but I love fish too.
Post InfoPosted 06-May-2006 03:19Profile PM Edit Report 

----------
Big Fish
Kudos: 351
Votes: 14
female australia
Hey there.

First of all we'll need to know what size tank you've got, what other fish you have in it, what kind of filter you are running, if the tank is cycled or not and most importantly what the readings for pH, Ammonia, Nitrite and Nitrate are. If you don't have your own test kits for these you can take a sample to the local fish store and they'll test it for you.

Fish get ich more easily when they are stressed out. The fish you put in the tank could have infected the others or it may be that your water quality is poor and your fish are a little stressed because of it. All the information I've asked for above will help us figure out what it is.